Our Mission

The Bexar County ESD No. 8 Fire Department is committed to serving the Bexar County Emergency Services District Number 8 and City of Grey Forest community with the highest level of life and property protection. We will achieve this by providing excellent and compassionate service in an atmosphere that encourages innovation, professional development and diversity.


Our Philosophy

We, the members of the Bexar County ESD No. 8 Fire Department are committed to the following values in our interactions with coworkers and customers:

  • Professionalism– In application, appearance, attitude, and standards
  • Integrity– Demonstrate honesty and fairness
  • Compassion– Demonstrate kindness and empathy
  • Responsibility and Accountability– Professionally, personally and fiscally responsible for our actions
  • Respect– For each other, our Department, and our customers, the citizens and visitors of the Bexar County Emergency Services District 8 and the City of Grey Forest.
  • Diversity– Be open-minded and responsive to the uniqueness of our community without regard to age, gender, religion or ethnic origin
  • Commitment– In all department endeavors
  • Teamwork– Encourage unity and a cooperative attitude
  • Health and Safety – Personal and professional health and safety are paramount in fulfilling the mission of the Bexar County ESD No. 8 Fire Department.

Firefighter Code of Ethics

I understand that I have the responsibility to conduct myself in a manner that reflects proper ethical behavior and integrity. In so doing, I will help foster a continuing positive public perception of the fire service. Therefore, I pledge the following…

  • Always conduct myself, on and off duty, in a manner that reflects positively on myself, my department and the fire service in general.
  • Accept responsibility for my actions and for the consequences of my actions.
  • Support the concept of fairness and the value of diverse thoughts and opinions.
  • Avoid situations that would adversely affect the credibility or public perception of the fire service profession.
  • Be truthful and honest at all times and report instances of cheating or other dishonest acts that compromise the integrity of the fire service.
  • Conduct my personal affairs in a manner that does not improperly influence the performance of my duties or bring discredit to my organization.
  • Be respectful and conscious of each member’s safety and welfare.
  • Recognize that I serve in a position of public trust that requires stewardship in the honest and efficient use of publicly owned resources, including uniforms, facilities, vehicles and equipment and that these are protected from misuse and theft.
  • Exercise professionalism, competence, respect and loyalty in the performance of my duties and use information, confidential or otherwise, gained by virtue of my position, only to benefit those I am entrusted to serve.
  • Avoid financial investments, outside employment, outside business interests or activities that conflict with or are enhanced by my official position or have the potential to create the perception of impropriety.
  • Never propose or accept personal rewards, special privileges, benefits, advancement, honors or gifts that may create a conflict of interest, or the appearance thereof.
  • Never engage in activities involving alcohol or other substance use or abuse that can impair my mental state or the performance of my duties and compromise safety.
  • Never discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, creed, age, marital status, national origin, ancestry, gender, sexual preference, medical condition or handicap.
  • Never harass, intimidate or threaten fellow members of the service or the public and stop or report the actions of other firefighters who engage in such behaviors.
  • Responsibly use social networking, electronic communications, or other media technology opportunities in a manner that does not discredit, dishonor or embarrass my organization, the fire service, and the public. I also understand that failure to resolve or report inappropriate use of this media equates to condoning this behavior.



Bexar County Emergency Services District No. 8 is a taxing authority that is governed by Texas Health and Safety Code 775 and other Texas Laws.  Emergency Services Districts consists of 5 Commissioners.  Bexar County ESD No. 8 currently has 4 Commissioners on its board, all of which are actively serving.

President – Mario Hune

Vice President – Vacant

Treasurer – Mike Voss

Secretary – William Burke

Commissioner – VACANT


Phone Number 210-257-9300 Email Office@esd8.org


What is an Emergency Services District (ESD)?

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, similar to a School District, Library District or Hospital District. Depending on the ESD’s creation documents, an ESD can provide fire protection, emergency medical services or both. A board of five commissioners governs ESDs and operates independently from the county government. In most counties in Texas, the County Commissioners Court appoints the commissioners to two-year terms. Commissioners are elected for ESDs in Harris, Orange, and Smith counties, as well as for ESDs that exist in more than one county.

How does an ESD get funding?

ESDs are allowed to levy ad valorem (property) tax. The Texas Constitution states that ESDs may tax up to $0.10 per $100 of property valuation. The ESD’s creation documents establish the district’s initial tax rate.

ESDs may also collect sales tax, provided an election is held and voters approve this power. In Texas, 8.25% is the maximum allowed sales tax rate. The state collects 6.25%, leaving 2% available to eligible local jurisdictions, including ESDs. An ESD may collect anywhere from .125% to 2% of the local sales tax rate depending on availability and subject to voter approval.

ESDs are also allowed to bill for services provided, such as emergency medical services or fire protection, if it so chooses.

Bexar County ESD No. 8 levies an ad valorem (property) tax of $0.09923 per $100.00 of property tax valuation and a local sales tax of 1.5%.


Long Range Plan

ESD No. 8 Master Plan Approved 2.9.21